Russia and the Philippines established diplomatic relations on June 2, 1976 and opened their respective embassies in 1977.

The two countries maintain dialogue at the top and high levels. President of the Philippines Gloria Macapagal Arroyo made an official visit to Russia in June 2009.

In November 2015, Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev held talks with President of the Philippines Benigno Aquino on the sidelines of the APEC summit in Manila.

In September 2016, Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev held talks with President of the Philippines Rodrigo Duterte at the East Asia Summit in Vientiane.

President of Russia Vladimir Putin met with the Philippine leader on the sidelines of the APEC summit in Lima in November 2016, during the Belt and Road Forum in Beijing on May 14, 2017, and during the official visit of President Duterte to Russia on May 23, 2017.

Following the Philippine President’s visit to Russia in May 2017, the two countries signed a package of documents, including an agreement on defence cooperation; interdepartmental memoranda on cooperation in nuclear energy, trade and investment, industry, energy, agriculture, transportation, tourism and culture; a plan of consultations between their foreign ministries for 2017-2019, as well as a number of corporate documents.

The foreign ministries of Russia and the Philippines maintain regular contact. In October 2005, Foreign Secretary of the Philippines Alberto Romulo made a working visit to Russia. In August 2007, Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov was in the Philippines on an official visit, which he combined with participation in ASEAN events in Manila. In March 2012, Philippine Foreign Secretary Albert del Rosario visited Russia. In August 2015 and in 2017, the foreign ministers of Russia and the Philippines met in Kuala Lumpur and Manila during ASEAN ministerial meetings.

In December 2016, Foreign Secretary Perfecto Yasay was in Moscow on a working visit. On May 25, 2017, Sergey Lavrov held talks with his Philippine counterpart, Alan Peter Cayetano.

The ties between the parliaments of Russia and the Philippines are expanding. In November 2014, Federation Council Speaker Valentina Matviyenko made an official visit to Manila. In October 2015, Senate President Franklin Drilon visited Russia. The two parliaments have signed an updated agreement on cooperation between their upper houses.

In February 2017, Deputy Chairman of the Federation Council’s Foreign Affairs Committee and Eurasian Dialogue Coordinator Andrey Klimov made a working visit to the Philippines.

In April 2016, Deputy Speaker of the Philippine House of Representatives Giorgidi Aggabao attended the first Meeting of Speakers of Eurasian Countries' Parliaments (MSEAP) in Moscow.

The Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippine Congress have Philippine -Russian Friendship Groups.

Economic cooperation between Russia and the Philippines is coordinated by the Joint Commission on Trade and Economic Cooperation, which is co-chaired by Deputy Minister of Economic Development Alexander Tsybulsky (Russia) and Department of Trade and Industry Undersecretary Ceferino Rodolfo (the Philippines). The first meeting of the Joint Commission was held in Manila on April 28, 2017.

According to the Federal Customs Service of Russia, Russian-Philippine trade amounted to $439.9 million in 2016, a decrease of 25.1 percent from 2015. Russian exports to the Philippines plunged by 54.6 percent to $145.8 million, while Philippine exports to Russia increased by 10.5 percent and reached $294.1 million. Between January and May 2017, bilateral trade equalled $172.8 million, up 23.2 percent from the same period in 2016. Russian exports fell by 31.8 percent to $36.4 million, while imports from the Philippines grew by 57 per cent to $136.4 million.

Russia exports mineral fuel, oil and petrochemicals (63.1 percent of the total), timber and pulp and paper products (15.65 percent), metals and metalware (3 percent), chemical goods and rubber (3.3 percent) to the Philippines. Imports comprise machines, equipment and motor vehicles (80 percent), foodstuffs and agricultural raw materials (9.4 percent), textiles and footwear (4.4 percent), chemical goods and rubber (3.3 percent).

Russia-Philippines business forums were held in Moscow and St Petersburg in May 2017 in order to stimulate direct ties between our companies in the context of President Rodrigo Duterte’s visit.

In May 2016, Secretary of Science and Technology Mario Montejo, who led the Philippines delegation at the ASEAN-Russia Commemorative Summit in Sochi, met with senior officials from the Russian Ministry of Education and Science and the Russian Academy of Sciences in Moscow to outline promising areas of scientific and research cooperation.

In April 2016, Agriculture Undersecretary Dennis Guerrero was in Moscow for talks with Deputy Agriculture Minister Sergey Levin and Deputy Head of the Federal Service for Veterinary and Phytosanitary Supervision Yevgeny Nepoklonov.

In December 2015, Chairman of the National Commission for Culture and the Arts Felipe de Leon attended the Fourth St Petersburg International Cultural Forum, on the sidelines of which he met with Russian Deputy Culture Minister Alla Manilova.

In January 2015, Head of the Parnas Municipality (St Petersburg) Alexey Cherezov visited the City of Dipolog in the Philippine province of Zamboanga del Norte, during which he signed an agreement on the establishment of sister relations.

In September and October 2015, Governor of Cebu Hilario Perez Davide III visited St Petersburg and Moscow. In March 2017, St Petersburg Governor Georgy Poltavchenko met with delegates from the Philippine ministries of agriculture, industry and trade.

Russia and the Philippines are also developing ties in education. In November 2015, Russia’s Far Eastern Federal University and the University of the Philippines signed an agreement on research cooperation and academic exchanges on the sidelines of the APEC summit in Manila.

The two countries also maintain sports contacts. In 2016, 29 Russian athletes took part in international competitions that were held in the Philippines. We are analysing the possibility of holding a friendly game between Russian and Philippine chess masters in the City of Baguio in 2018 to mark the 40th anniversary of the 1978 World Championship chess tournament between Anatoly Karpov and Viktor Korchnoi. Anatoly Karpov may travel to the Philippines for the occasion.

Regarding our cultural ties, Russian Culture Days were held in Manila on October 19-24, 2016 and a festival of Philippine culture was held in Moscow as part of celebrations of the 40th anniversary of diplomatic relations between Russia and the Philippines. Philippine Culture Days will be held in Russia on September 26-30, 2017.

Tourism is a promising area of cooperation. In 2006, we signed an intergovernmental agreement on cooperation in tourism. In January 2016, Deputy Head of the Federal Agency for Tourism (Rostourism) Roman Skory and Philippine Tourism Secretary Ramon Jimenez met in Manila on the sidelines of the ASEAN-Russia consultations on tourism.

In 2013, the Philippines waived visa requirements for Russians who intend to stay in the country for up to 30 days.

In 2016, more than 28,000 Russians visited the Philippines, whereas the number of Philippine tourists in Russia increased only slightly, to some 7,000 or by 15 percent, compared with 2015.

Cebu City maintains twin city relations with St Petersburg and Vladimir.

Дипломатические отношения с Филиппинами установлены 2 июня 1976 г. Обмен посольствами произошел в 1977 г.

Поддерживается диалог на высшем и высоком уровне. В июне 2009 г. состоялся официальный визит президента Филиппин Г.Арройо в Россию.

В ноябре 2015 г. «на полях» саммита АТЭС в г.Маниле прошла беседа Председателя Правительства Российской Федерации Д.А.Медведева и Президента Республики Филиппины Б.Акино.

В сентябре 2016 г. в рамках Восточноазиатского саммита во Вьентьяне состоялись переговоры Д.А.Медведева с Президентом Республики Филиппины Р.Дутерте.

В ноябре 2016 г. Президент России В.В.Путин встретился с филиппинским лидером «на полях» саммита АТЭС в Лиме. Второй контакт состоялся в рамках Форума «Один пояс, Один путь» в Пекине 14 мая с.г., третий – 23 мая с.г. в ходе официального визита Президента Р.Дутерте в Россию (22-24 мая с.г.).

По итогам визита филиппинского лидера в Россию в мае 2017 г. был подписан пакет документов, в том числе соглашение об оборонном сотрудничестве, межведомственные меморандумы о взаимодействии в областях атомной энергетики, торговли и инвестиций, промышленности, энергетики, сельского хозяйства, транспорта, туризма, культуры, межмидовский План консультаций на 2017-2019 гг., а также ряд корпоративных документов.

Осуществляются контакты по линии внешнеполитических ведомств двух стран. В октябре 2005 г. Россию с рабочим визитом посетил мининдел Филиппин А.Ромуло. В августе 2007 г. Министр иностранных дел России С.В.Лавров совершил официальный визит на Филиппины в увязке с участием в асеановских мероприятиях в Маниле. В марте 2012 г. в России побывал Министр иностранных дел Филиппин А.дель Розарио. В августе 2015 г. и 2017 г. в ходе асеановских министерских мероприятий в Куала-Лумпуре и Маниле соответственно прошли встречи министров иностранных дел.

В декабре 2016 г. Москву с рабочим визитом посетил Министр иностранных дел Республики Филиппины П.Ясай. 25 мая 2017 г. прошли переговоры С.В.Лаврова с главой внешнеполитического ведомства Филиппин А.П.Каетано.

Развиваются межпарламентские обмены. В ноябре 2014 г. официальный визит в Манилу совершила Председатель Совета Федерации Федерального Собрания Российской Федерации В.И.Матвиенко. В октябре 2015 г. Россию посетил Председатель Сената Филиппин Ф.Дрилон. Подписано обновленное соглашение о сотрудничестве между верхними палатами парламентов двух стран.

В феврале 2017 г. состоялся рабочий визит на Филиппины заместителя Председателя Комитета по международным делам Совета Федерации Федерального Собрания Российской Федерации, координатора российского парламентского «Евразийского диалога» А.А.Климова.

В апреле 2016 г. заместитель Председателя Палаты представителей Конгресса Филиппин Г.Аггабао присутствовал на первом Совещании спикеров парламентов стран Евразии в Москве.

В Сенате и Палате представителей Конгресса Филиппин созданы группы филиппино-российской дружбы.

Координирующий орган экономической кооперации – Российско-Филиппинская Совместная комиссия по торговому и экономическому сотрудничеству (МПК) под председательством заместителя Министра экономического развития Российской Федерации А.В.Цыбульского и замминистра промышленности и торговли Филиппин С.Родольфо. Инаугурационное заседание МПК состоялось 28 апреля 2017 г. в Маниле.

По данным ФТС России, объем взаимной торговли в 2016 г. составил 439,9 млн долл. США (сокращение на 25,1% по сравнению с 2015 г). Российский экспорт при этом понизился до 145,8 млн долл. (-54,6%), а импорт достиг 294,1 млн долл. (+10,5%). В январе-мае 2017 г. двусторонний товарооборот составил 172,8 млн долл. (+ 23,2% по сравнению с аналогичным периодом 2016 г.). При этом российский экспорт сократился до 36,4 млн долл. (-31,8%), а импорт достиг 136,4 млн долл. (+57%).

Основная часть отечественного экспорта – минеральное топливо, нефть и продукты их перегонки (63,1%), а также древесина и целлюлозно-бумажные изделия (15,65%), металлы и изделия из них (3%), продукция химической промышленности и каучука (3,3%). Основу импорта составляют машины, оборудование и транспортные средства (80%), продовольственные товары и сельскохозяйственное сырье (9,4%), текстиль и обувь (4,4%), продукция химической промышленности и каучука (3,3%).

С целью активизации прямых связей между предпринимательскими структурами двух стран в мае 2017 г. в привязке к визиту Р.Дутерте в Москве и Санкт-Петербурге были организованы российско-филиппинские деловые форумы.

В мае 2016 г. в Москве состоялись встречи Министра науки и технологий Филиппин М.Монтехо (возглавлял филиппинскую делегацию на юбилейном саммите Россия-АСЕАН в Сочи) с руководством Министерства образования и науки Российской Федерации и Российской академии наук. Определены перспективные сферы научно-исследовательского сотрудничества.

В апреле 2016 г. в Москве прошли беседы заместителя Министра сельского хозяйства Филиппин Д.Герреро с заместителем Министра сельского хозяйства России С.Л.Левиным и заместителем Руководителя Федеральной службы по ветеринарному и фитосанитарному надзору Е.А.Непоклоновым.

В декабре 2015 г. Председатель Национальной комиссии по культуре и искусству Республики Филиппины Ф.де Леон участвовал в IV Санкт-Петербургском международном культурном форуме, «на полях» которого встретился с заместителем Министра культуры России А.Ю.Маниловой.

В январе 2015 г. состоялся визит на Филиппины главы муниципального образования «Парнас» г.Санкт-Петербурга А.В.Черезова в г.Диполог (провинция Замбоанга дель Норте), в ходе которого подписано Соглашение об установлении побратимских связей.

В сентябре – октябре 2015 г. Санкт-Петербург и Москву посетил губернатор филиппинской провинции Себу Х.Давиде. В марте 2017 г. состоялась встреча губернатора Санкт-Петербурга С.Г.Полтавченко с представителями министерств сельского хозяйства, промышленности и торговли Филиппин.

Развивается взаимодействие в образовательной сфере. «На полях» саммита АТЭС в Маниле в ноябре 2015 г. подписано Соглашение о научно-исследовательском сотрудничестве и академических обменах между Дальневосточным федеральным университетом и Университетом Филиппин.

Поддерживаются контакты в области спорта. В прошедшем году
29 российских спортсменов участвовали в проводимых на Филиппинах международных соревнованиях. Изучается возможность проведения в 2018 г. в г.Багио товарищеской игры между российским и филиппинским гроссмейстерами по случаю 40-летия матча за звание чемпиона мира по шахматам между А.Е.Карповым и В.Л.Корчным, а также организации поездки А.Е.Карпова на Филиппины.

Осуществляется сотрудничество в сфере культуры. В рамках празднования в 2016 г. 40-летия установления дипломатических отношений между Россией и Филиппинами организованы Дни российской культуры в Маниле (19-24 октября 2016 г.), а также фестиваль филиппинской культуры в Москве. Дни культуры Филиппин в России намечены на 26-30 сентября 2017 г.

Перспективным направлением является туризм. В 2006 г. подписано межправительственное соглашение о сотрудничестве в этой сфере. В январе 2016 г. в Маниле «на полях» российско-асеановских консультаций по туризму  состоялась встреча заместителя Руководителя Ростуризма Р.П.Скорого с Министром туризма Филиппин Р.Хименесом.

 С 2013 г. на Филиппинах действует безвизовый режим поездок для граждан России на срок до 30 дней.

В 2016 г. в Республике побывали свыше 28 тыс. россиян, число филиппинских туристов незначительно (в 2016 г. граждане Филиппин совершили порядка 7 тыс. туристических поездок в нашу страну, что на 15% больше по сравнению с 2015 г.).

Установлены побратимские связи между г.Санкт-Петербург и г.Себу, между г.Владимир и г.Себу.